Lofunzo wrote: raiders_umpire wrote:
As long as the player is not yanked from the game(ie. manager pulling him in the middle of the inning), he is allowed to go back to pitch at any point.
If the reliever was pulled from the mound in the middle of the inning though, he is not allowed to take the mound anymore that game.
What if he was "yanked" in the middle of an inning but immediately put in the OF?? I don't see the difference in going from RP to OF with 2 outs in an inning or at the end of the inning.
If the pitcher is "yanked" from the mound on the 2nd visit, he is not allowed to pitch anymore that day. It is basically just the way it is worded here.
A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher’s automatic removal;
You can rotate pitchers all day long between innings(such as you have 2 pitchers with one guy pitching the first 2 innings and the other one playing LF, and then they rotate every 2 innings. As long as they are never pulled from the mound by the manager, it is legal. Once they are pulled, they can not pitch again.
Again it is not a rule that comes up in MLB at all, but in Babe Ruth, it is a rule that you sometimes have to remind the coaches about quite a bit.