advice re:closers, starters, and middle relievers - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Beginner's Forum

advice re:closers, starters, and middle relievers

advice re:closers, starters, and middle relievers

Postby barmstrong » Mon May 07, 2007 10:16 am

OK, This is my first year dabbling in fantasy baseball. The league I went with is head to head and offers the following for pitching points:
BBI - Walks Issued (Pitchers) -0.5 points
CG - Complete Games 5 points
ER - Earned Runs -1 point
HA - Hits Allowed -0.5 points
INN - Innings 2 points
K - Strikeouts (Pitcher) 1 point
S - Saves 10 points
W - Wins 10 points
My pitchers are as follows:
Beckett, Josh SP BOS
Escobar, Kelvim SP ANA
Hudson, Tim SP ATL
Kazmir, Scott SP TB
Okajima, Hideki RP BOS
Otsuka, Akinori RP TEX
Santana, Johan SP MIN
Reserve
Clemens, Roger SP HOU
Gagne, Eric RP TEX
Lester, Jon SP BOS

I obviously am taking space with Lester and Clemens which could bite me during the coming month. I had Wickman and then went and picked up Gagne. For the coming week Texas is playing Yanks and Angels. I saw that someone else in my league has Brendan Donnelly and I scratched my head until I saw some pretty good points go up.

With that observation and watching Okajima I am thinking of putting in two middle relievers and getting some points for K's and Innings.

Is my thought process wrong in this case? Will this philosophy bite me? I am tied for last with 1 win and two loses. I got killed this past week because my hitters didn't know they should swing the bat.

Help?
barmstrong
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Bklyn55 » Mon May 07, 2007 5:18 pm