Differentiating value based on league settings (H2H/Roto) - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Differentiating value based on league settings (H2H/Roto)

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Differentiating value based on league settings (H2H/Roto)

Postby bceagles04 » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:01 pm

I have played in nothing but h2h leagues since I started playing fantasy baseball. I have noticed that some players are just not worth the trouble in h2h. Adam Dunn and Jason Bay are both notorious streaky hitters. I had JBay for the first 1.5 months last year and was SICK of him, but I held onto him and he busted out on that ridiculous HR tear.

I just want to start some conversation on increases/decreases in value based on the league style. Essentially: who do you value you more in h2h. And who do you value more in roto?
bceagles04
General Manager
General Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby itodd » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:15 pm

it also depends on what kind of h2h though. For regular yahoo h2h where there is no max innings and you can change roster daily, multi-position players and high-K MR get big bumps in value.

i have Wes Helms in all my h2h leagues, but in none of my roto leagues because he can play 2 different infield spots.
itodd
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby Wharton93 » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:30 pm

Adam Dunn is worth a lot more in HTH than in Roto as are most low average/high power hitters. Since their average "resets" every week, you don't have to carry a .234 average all the way until September. Sure, some weeks suck...but even Manny was .148 and JD Drew .087 last week so Dunn's .234 or whatever gets lost in the week to week ups and downs and small sample sizes.