Return to St. Louis Cardinals

Hello

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Hello

Postby ScreamingWeasel_fbc » Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:33 am

"Hello".
First time poster. But a Cards fan.
So I thought I'd start here.

To tell the truth, I'm just beginning (over the past few years) to get back into baseball after being away for ... oh ... the last 40 years or so.
They tell me that Dizzy Dean and Pee Wee Reese no longer do the NBC Game Of The Week - "... brought to you by Schlitz. The beer that made Milwaukee famous".
:-)

I did manage to win my H2H league last year. Mainly on the strength of Pujols and great pitching.
But I'm definitely going to need some help.
ScreamingWeasel_fbc Beginner
T-Ball Trainer

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby bell » Sun Jan 11, 2004 2:23 pm

Welcome to the Cafe! And glad to see baseball was able to pull you back in after such a hiatus! ;-D

If you frequent the "Fantasy Baseball Talk" and "Trade, Keeper and Waivers Questions" boards, you should be more than prepared for the upcoming season.

You'll have to excuse some of us for our offhanded, less-than-complimentary Cardinals' remarks. It's not because we hate. It's because we care. (Well, except for me. I still have a chip on my shoulder when it comes to them) ;-D ;-D
bell
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby ScreamingWeasel_fbc » Sun Jan 11, 2004 7:09 pm

bell wrote:Welcome to the Cafe! And glad to see baseball was able to pull you back in after such a hiatus! ;-D

Thanks, "Bell".
My 1st love as a kid, so long ago, was always baseball.
But, I admit it, I've far-and-away been an NFL fan for most of my adult life.
But. I don't know ...
Seems like as I get older (I'll be 50 in April!) MLB just keeps calling to me. It's weird.
Come baaaack. Come baaaack.
The NFL has changed so much, so much parity in the league, it's become less than it once was for me.
While baseball is just always there. Tradition. History. America. Year in. Year out. You know?