Umping - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Umping

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Umping

Postby Old_Style » Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:29 am

I'm going to be umping this summer for my town's park district baseball leagues. I've never umped before and was wondering if any of you have. I'm not sure what to expect. I know baseball fairly well and played it when I was a kid, but I'm guessing it's a whole different ball game when you're the one making the calls.

Anyways, I'm just looking for some experiences or stories some of you might have.
Old_Style
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicCafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby raiders_umpire » Thu Apr 26, 2007 7:21 am

I have been umpiring for about 12 years now. It is an absolute blast especially with the little leaguers. In fact I much prefer umpiring a little league game then I do high school. My basic rules of a little league game are know the rules of baseball(ie. get a rule book and learn it), call the game fair(unless it turns into an absolute blowout), help the kids if they have questions, and definitely have fun. The only possible problem you will have is with some coaches and parents that are pretty new to the little league scene. They will not know the rules, and will try to test you on every play. Just don't lose your patience with these parents and get a temper or it will get even worse for you. But once those parents realize that you are fair and know the rules, they will leave you alone and let you have umpire the game. Have fun. ;-D
raiders_umpire

ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeInnovative MemberCafe MusketeerPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner

Postby Coppermine » Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:32 am