Law school? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Law school?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Law school?

Postby luckygehrig » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:17 am

I see a lot of people on here asking for advice on undergrad stuff, so I figured why not with law school. Right now I'm a sophomore working on a Criminal Justice degree with "an option in pre-law." I've been considering changing my major to a regular CJ degree with a minor in philosophy after hearing that law schools tend to look down upon students who are in "pre-law" programs. I came up with a list today of all the positives and negatives of each, and it seemed to me that the degree I'm working on now would have me better prepared in the end than taking a philosophy minor. The pre-law track focuses on expository writing, critical thinking and an understanding of the courts system. I guess my question is, does anyone know if it is that big a disadvantage to be a "pre-law" student as opposed to a CJ student with a philosophy minor?

Also, any tips on studying for the LSAT? Or the law school application process? I ordered a copy of the ABA bible today to start getting an idea of some law schools that might be suitable for me and I've been working out of a Princeton Review LSAT Prep book. Anything else I should be doing? Thanks for any help or advice you can offer. I've already talked to some attorneys in the law office that I work at about this, but I figure the more opinions that I can get, the better off I will be in the long run.
luckygehrig
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Cafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby The Artful Dodger » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:40 am

I have a friend who's currently enrolled as a JD/MBA student. In short, he's basically going after his law degree with some hybrid knowledge in business.