New to fantasy baseball - Any advice? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

New to fantasy baseball - Any advice?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

New to fantasy baseball - Any advice?

Postby sklingem » Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:37 pm

This is my first year in a fantasy baseball league. I've been in football and now joined a league with friends. It is a 6 team redraft league. We start 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, 3 OF, 2 SP, 2 RP, 3 P, C and a utility position. There are five bench spots and a DL.

My first question relates to valuable positions. Based on my bench below I'm tempted to drop my C - Posada and 3B - Crede for pitching. Is that a good move?

My second question is the RP position. I noticed a RP who has quite a few wins, inings pitched and Ks. He is also classified as a starter (maybe he really is). Two of the pitchers eligible for SP and RP are Chuck James - ATL and Clay Hensley - SD. Has anyone tried to put a RP/SP in a RP to add wins, IP and Ks? The only category which becomes a loser is saves.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Here is my team:

C: R. Hernandez
1B: Pujols
2B: Roberts
3B: Wright
SS: Tejada
OF: Guerrero
OF: Damon
OF: Pierre
Util: M. Young
Bench: C. Delagdo, J. Thome, A. Dunn, J. Crede, J. Posada

SP: Peavy, Halladay, Rambrano, Haren, Willis
RP: Jenks, Lidge
sklingem
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Football

Postby elltrain22 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:24 am

Not a bad team for a newbie!! I would get 1 more closer (I like to have at least 3), and maybe 1 more SP. Your team is solid, but ya have good players like Delgado, Thome, & Dunn who'll sit on your bench. Why not move and get players you can use consistently?
elltrain22
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Omaha Red Sox » Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:38 am

elltrain22 wrote:Not a bad team for a newbie!!

6 team league. :-?