Vista Ultimate Edition Question - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Vista Ultimate Edition Question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Vista Ultimate Edition Question

Postby Phatferd » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:33 pm

My mom works for gateway and they gave them all free copies of Office 2007 and Vista Ultimate. I was wondering how many computers you usually can put Vista on? I am thinking of putting it on my 2nd computer (which I don't use often) just to screw around on to get used to the features before I upgrade my laptop to it after all the bugs are ironed out.
You have no frame of reference, Donny. You're like a child who walks into the middle of a movie...
Phatferd
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 4058
Joined: 6 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Highway 10

Re: Vista Ultimate Edition Question

Postby acsguitar » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:37 pm

Phatferd wrote:My mom works for gateway and they gave them all free copies of Office 2007 and Vista Ultimate. I was wondering how many computers you usually can put Vista on? I am thinking of putting it on my 2nd computer (which I don't use often) just to screw around on to get used to the features before I upgrade my laptop to it after all the bugs are ironed out.


1 Copy because I think you have register with a key server.

I don't believe there are VLK copies for Vista although I could be wrong
I'm too lazy to make a sig at the moment
acsguitar
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Graphics Expert
Posts: 26722
Joined: 7 Apr 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Back in General Talk WOOO!!!

Postby j_d_mcnugent » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:41 pm

legally just 1 computer. i've heard there are several ways to get around registering though.
back from the dead
j_d_mcnugent
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
CafeholicCafe Ranker
Posts: 3766
Joined: 1 May 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: bored at work

Postby Phatferd » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:44 pm

j_d_mcnugent wrote:legally just 1 computer. i've heard there are several ways to get around registering though.


Care to share? That's so lame. What if you have to reformat?
You have no frame of reference, Donny. You're like a child who walks into the middle of a movie...
Phatferd
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 4058
Joined: 6 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Highway 10

Postby acsguitar » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:47 pm

Phatferd wrote:
j_d_mcnugent wrote:legally just 1 computer. i've heard there are several ways to get around registering though.


Care to share? That's so lame. What if you have to reformat?


When you install Vista I would reformat the drive first. It should walk you through it.

Are you putting it on the 3500+? Thats a AMD 64 bit I think. Is ultimate 64 bit?

I assume there are ways around although I haven't installed vista so i don't know
I'm too lazy to make a sig at the moment
acsguitar
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Graphics Expert
Posts: 26722
Joined: 7 Apr 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Back in General Talk WOOO!!!

Postby Phatferd » Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:01 pm

acsguitar wrote:
Phatferd wrote:
j_d_mcnugent wrote:legally just 1 computer. i've heard there are several ways to get around registering though.


Care to share? That's so lame. What if you have to reformat?


When you install Vista I would reformat the drive first. It should walk you through it.

Are you putting it on the 3500+? Thats a AMD 64 bit I think. Is ultimate 64 bit?

I assume there are ways around although I haven't installed vista so i don't know


Yes I am and yes it is a 64 bit. The Ultimate is dual format, so it will work on a 32 and also has a 64. I can't install it until I know I can put it on multiple machines because my mom needs to put it on her company laptop before anything.
You have no frame of reference, Donny. You're like a child who walks into the middle of a movie...
Phatferd
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 4058
Joined: 6 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Highway 10

Postby Madison » Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Is it MSDN (Microsoft Developer's Network)? If so, then no problem. If not, then does it have an Enterprise license? If not you'll need to buy it. If you don't have that either, then best not to install it. ;-)
Yes doctor, I am sick.
Sick of those who are spineless.
Sick of those who feel self-entitled.
Sick of those who are hypocrites.
Yes doctor, an army is forming.
Yes doctor, there will be a war.
Yes doctor, there will be blood.....
Madison
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
ExecutiveEditorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterInnovative MemberCafe MusketeerPick 3 ChampionMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 53856
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Taking Souls...

Postby acsguitar » Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:12 pm

Madison wrote:Is it MSDN (Microsoft Developer's Network)? If so, then no problem. If not, then does it have an Enterprise license? If not you'll need to buy it. If you don't have that either, then best not to install it. ;-)


wow who's typing for Madison?
I'm too lazy to make a sig at the moment
acsguitar
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Graphics Expert
Posts: 26722
Joined: 7 Apr 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Back in General Talk WOOO!!!

Postby Madison » Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:26 pm

acsguitar wrote:
Madison wrote:Is it MSDN (Microsoft Developer's Network)? If so, then no problem. If not, then does it have an Enterprise license? If not you'll need to buy it. If you don't have that either, then best not to install it. ;-)


wow who's typing for Madison?


Yeah, I sounded kinda geeky huh? :-P
Yes doctor, I am sick.
Sick of those who are spineless.
Sick of those who feel self-entitled.
Sick of those who are hypocrites.
Yes doctor, an army is forming.
Yes doctor, there will be a war.
Yes doctor, there will be blood.....
Madison
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
ExecutiveEditorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterInnovative MemberCafe MusketeerPick 3 ChampionMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 53856
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Taking Souls...

Postby acsguitar » Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:28 pm

Madison wrote:
acsguitar wrote:
Madison wrote:Is it MSDN (Microsoft Developer's Network)? If so, then no problem. If not, then does it have an Enterprise license? If not you'll need to buy it. If you don't have that either, then best not to install it. ;-)


wow who's typing for Madison?


Yeah, I sounded kinda geeky huh? :-P


Yea that was weird...Do you work for microsoft?
I'm too lazy to make a sig at the moment
acsguitar
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Graphics Expert
Posts: 26722
Joined: 7 Apr 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Back in General Talk WOOO!!!

Next

Return to General Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daicekl and 4 guests

cron
Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Tuesday, Sep. 2
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

Cincinnati at Baltimore
(7:05 pm)
Detroit at Cleveland
(7:05 pm)
Boston at NY Yankees
(7:05 pm)
Philadelphia at Atlanta
(7:10 pm)
NY Mets at Miami
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Toronto at Tampa Bay
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Milwaukee at Chi Cubs
(8:05 pm)
Chi White Sox at Minnesota
(8:10 pm)
Texas at Kansas City
(8:10 pm)
LA Angels at Houston
(8:10 pm)
Pittsburgh at St. Louis
(8:15 pm)
San Francisco at Colorado
(8:40 pm)
Seattle at Oakland
(10:05 pm)
Washington at LA Dodgers
(10:10 pm)
Arizona at San Diego
(10:10 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact