Please tear apart my Points-based scoring settings! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Please tear apart my Points-based scoring settings!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Please tear apart my Points-based scoring settings!

Postby Crippler » Wed Feb 28, 2007 5:42 pm

This is my first time as commish and i'm starting a Points-based Yahoo league. I'd like the player values to be similar to those in Roto-leagues, though I would also like Pitchers to be slightly less valued.

Please feel free to make suggestions about my point values as well as my categories. Thanks for your help in advance! B-)

Stat Categories: R, 1B, 2B, 3B, HR, RBI, SB, BB, IP, W, L, SV, H, ER, BB, K

Stat Modifiers:
R (1)
1B (.50)
2B (1)
3B (2)
HR (4)
RBI (1)
SB (2)
BB (.25)

IP (1)
W (4)
L (0)
SV (4)
H (-.25)
ER (-1)
BB (-.25)
K (1)

Would this point system cause any players to be very under/over valued?
Crippler
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 16)
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Lenny6 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:20 pm

Power hitters are going to be kings in this league as a home run is worth 8 times as much as a base hit (12 times if you tack on the R + RBI a HR also produces).

From a pitching perspective, something doesn't sit right with me when a strikeout is as valuable as preventing an earned run from being scored.
Lenny6
College Coach
College Coach

(Past Year: 20)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Crippler » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:20 pm

Thanks for the input!

Should I change HRs to be worth 3? That might balance it out a little bit.

As for the K & Earned Runs points, I just took that from the default Yahoo scoring. Should that be changed to +.50 per strikeout, and raise the points for SV and W?
Crippler
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 16)
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Lenny6 » Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:52 pm