Strategy on drafting closers... - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Strategy on drafting closers...

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Strategy on drafting closers...

Postby jeter2411 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 1:27 pm

I am in a 12 team NL-only auction league 4x4 (OBP, HR, RBI, SB...ERA, Wins, Ks, Saves)

What are peoples strategies on drafting closers? I have been doing fantasy baseball now for three years (this will be my fourth) and although I have made runs at titles I have never finished better than 5th...this seems to be the toughest position and the key to winning.

Do you take a top notch closer? 2? A couple of long shots? One of each? Help me out!

Thanks!
jeter2411
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Football

Postby BigLebowski » Mon Feb 26, 2007 1:29 pm

Everyone is different. I usually try to get one top rated closer, then a couple of bottom feeders. However if closer go early I usually end up waiting and just get 2-3 lower tier guys.

If you are active enough you can usually find guys on the waiver wire or late rounds that can give you a fair number of saves.
BigLebowski
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicCafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
(Past Year: 474)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Strategy on drafting closers...

Postby Prooks25 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 1:30 pm

jeter2411 wrote:I am in a 12 team NL-only auction league 4x4 (OBP, HR, RBI, SB...ERA, Wins, Ks, Saves)

What are peoples strategies on drafting closers? I have been doing fantasy baseball now for three years (this will be my fourth) and although I have made runs at titles I have never finished better than 5th...this seems to be the toughest position and the key to winning.

Do you take a top notch closer? 2? A couple of long shots? One of each? Help me out!

Thanks!

Personally, I have never taken a top notch closer in any league I've been in. I've won many leagues, and if I don't win, I am usually competitive.