Baseball Newbie Question: Draft Upcoming - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Baseball Newbie Question: Draft Upcoming

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Baseball Newbie Question: Draft Upcoming

Postby angels7777 » Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:21 pm

I am new to fantasy baseball. I played once last year briefly in a public league, but this year I am in a league with better competition. What strategy should I go into a draft with in H2H standard cats? I read sites where it says to put players into different tiers? Should I draft scarce positions first such as catchers, etc.? Should I try to build a solid pitching staff? Or should I just take best available player? Can someone with experience give me a little guidance here? Should I value speed over power?
5x5 H2H, NK 10 tms

C-
1- Fielder
2- Carpenter
3- Wright
SS- Desmond
OF- J. Upton, Trout, Heyward
UTL- Werth
BN- E. Cab
SP- Hamls, Gio, Latos, Tehran, D. Salzar, Lirano, Grza, Kluber, Lincum, Lacky
RP- Cishek, Veras, Soria, Brothers, Hawkins
DL- Crain
angels7777
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Cafeholic
(Past Year: 500)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby BillyHallDisciple » Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:27 pm

As you hop around on the Cafe, you'll notice everyone has a lot of different theories.

Most say when in doubt to go with hitting over pitching, because the hitters are more reliable year-to-year than pitchers. I usually go this way, but still I'm always nervous if I don't have at least one ace pitcher (it can make for a long season if you don't have an anchor).