Question About Grilling - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Question About Grilling

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Question About Grilling

Postby JTWood » Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:18 pm

I had a first in grilling last week. I had to throw out everything I had cooked on the grill because everything was covered in charcoal dust (I don't use gas). Here's what I think happened:

I cleaned my grill of the old ash before cooking, like always. I used the same charcoal brand I've been using for two years, same lighter fluid, and same technique (covered cooking). The only thing I changed was that I opened up the bottom vents on my pit wider than normal.

I understand that the physics of what I did would create an updraft. I actually wanted that to happen. I was hoping my coals would burn hotter with the extra oxygen and that the updraft would create more of a convection thereby cooking the meat more evenly. However, I didnt' think it would create such a large updraft that it would aerosolize the ash.

Have you guys ever had anything like that happen to you? I'd never heard of that happening before.
JTWood
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicCafe WriterEagle EyeWeb Supporter
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Question About Grilling

Postby Dan Lambskin » Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:40 pm

JTWood wrote:I had a first in grilling last week. I had to throw out everything I had cooked on the grill because everything was covered in charcoal dust (I don't use gas). Here's what I think happened:

I cleaned my grill of the old ash before cooking, like always. I used the same charcoal brand I've been using for two years, same lighter fluid , and same technique (covered cooking). The only thing I changed was that I opened up the bottom vents on my pit wider than normal.