Fantasy Sports and The Stock Market - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Fantasy Sports and The Stock Market

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Fantasy Sports and The Stock Market

Postby stoner420 » Sun Aug 13, 2006 2:22 pm

hey guys. Tell me if this sounds familiar: I am a 20 year old sports enthusiast. I have been doing fantasy sports for like 5 years and at this point consider myself very good at them. Over that 5 years I've won approx $850 bucks on fantasy sports. I typically spend at least an hour and a half every day either watching sports or checking my teams or reading fantasy related articles. So that 850 is nice money, but if u broke it down by the hour id be making probably less than two cents an hour. Like many of you fantasy sports often takes up waaay too much of my time and has caused countless hours of procrastination of things that i should be doing.

So I was thinking... is there some other similar format that i could be better spending my time online? And it dawned on me that the answer could be the stock market. I know absolutely nothing about finance. I hate math(unless its figuring out ppg or deciphering player stats) and have never taken any courses about stocks or any of that. But with my limited knowledge, it seems pretty obvious that there are some striking similarities between playing fantasy sports and playing the market.

1. Its something that you can do on your free time while farting around on the internet.