How is this ruled? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

How is this ruled?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

How is this ruled?

Postby pangbones » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:29 am

If a man is on first, and the guy batting hits a single, and the man on first advances to 2B, does the batter get charged with a man left on base? :-?
Image
pangbones
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Fantasy Expert
Posts: 4337
Joined: 8 May 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Lansing, MI

Postby ukjohn » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:39 am

no, only on an out does LOB come into play
"I'm out like a fat girl in dodge ball"
ukjohn
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar
Mock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 1283
Joined: 19 May 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Northern Kentucky

Postby Old_Style » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:39 am

:-? why would he get charged with a man left on base if both are still safely on base?
Image
Old_Style
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicCafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 6885
Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: at the last neighborhood corner tavern

Postby Smileyman9 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:41 am

I'm not sure I follow the question.

In this hypothetical scenerio are we saying that the team batting has 2 outs and the batter hits into the third out? Or are we saying the batter hits a grounder that's fielded and the advancing runner is forced out at second?

Or as stated above me...if both are safe, why would anyone be charged with a man LOB...if anything it's just advancing the runner..
Last edited by Smileyman9 on Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Smileyman9
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar

Posts: 336
(Past Year: 2)
Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby TheYanks04 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:41 am

No. The inning must end.

"A baserunner is said to be left on base (abbreviated LOB) when the half-inning ends, he has not scored, and he has not been put out. A baserunner is considered to be left on base whether he causes an out, or maintains baserunner status during an inning-ending play."
TheYanks04
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero


Posts: 9531
Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby rainman23 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:06 pm

I think we're missing some crucial words from this question.
rainman23
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 937
Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby cakewalk5 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 7:20 pm

I think the question misinterpreted LOB from the beginning. I'm guessing the hitter was still on base when the third out was created.
cakewalk5
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 125
Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Home Cafe: Football

Postby bdrotoronto » Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:24 pm

rainman23 wrote:I think we're missing some crucial words from this question.

I would hope so. :-o

Far as I know, a player is only credited with LOB when he hits into the third out of an inning.
You've got a diamond, You've got nine men
You've got a hat and a bat, And that's not all..
bdrotoronto
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1708
Joined: 10 Sep 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby RyanK » Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:14 pm

bdrotoronto wrote:
rainman23 wrote:I think we're missing some crucial words from this question.

I would hope so. :-o

Far as I know, a player is only credited with LOB when he hits into the third out of an inning.


his question makes sense... I think he was just confused that because the player didnt score he was credited with LOB.

But your right bdrotoronto that a player is credited with LOB when he gets the third out of the inning with runners on base
Image
RyanK
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Graphics Expert
Posts: 2839
Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby pangbones » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:18 am

TheYanks04 wrote:No. The inning must end.

"A baserunner is said to be left on base (abbreviated LOB) when the half-inning ends, he has not scored, and he has not been put out. A baserunner is considered to be left on base whether he causes an out, or maintains baserunner status during an inning-ending play."


Thank you! ;-D
Image
pangbones
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Fantasy Expert
Posts: 4337
Joined: 8 May 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Lansing, MI

Next

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Thursday, Oct. 2
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

Detroit at Baltimore
(5:37 pm)
Kansas City at LA Angels
(9:07 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact