Computer Question - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Computer Question

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Computer Question

Postby Webster11 » Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:55 pm

Im looking at a new computer for college and I was told that to log onto the network you need Windows XP professional. I also want to be able to watch movies, tv etc on my computer and all of the computers which allow me to do that have Windows XP media center edition. I was wondering if I will still be able to log onto the network with media center edition? I know you can log on with Professional and can't logon with Home
Webster11
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: 10)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Rirruto » Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:33 pm

I highly doubt you wouldnt be able to get an Internet connection from your dorm room because of your OS. That's just my opinion though. I was a computer tech in my dorm and I still saw a number of comps still running on Win 98, Me, 2000. You should be fine with XP Pro. What school will you be attending btw? I can take a look at their Comp Services site.
Rirruto
General Manager
General Manager

Cafeholic

Postby Webster11 » Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:52 pm

Rirruto wrote:I highly doubt you wouldnt be able to get an Internet connection from your dorm room because of your OS. That's just my opinion though. I was a computer tech in my dorm and I still saw a number of comps still running on Win 98, Me, 2000. You should be fine with XP Pro. What school will you be attending btw? I can take a look at their Comp Services site.

University of michigan. I think I will be able to access the internet I think the problem might be accessing my files on the network. It doesnt sound like it should be a problem, but I remember hearing something about it at orientation. Thanks
Webster11
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby Rirruto » Sat Jul 15, 2006 11:06 pm

Webster11 wrote: