Lessons Learned - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Lessons Learned

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Lessons Learned

Postby jsphlly » Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:52 am

Fantasy Baseball is a learning experience. I'm now in the middle of my 6th season and feel I'm still learning every year.

The biggest lesson I feel I've learned this season is to be patient. I've made about 40 moves and feel I'd be in much better shape had I been more patient and only made a handful.

Guys I dropped: Kazmir, Morneau & Verlander.

However on the flip side I wish I had cut M. Giles earlier then I did and I wish I had the forsight to sell high on J. Gomes and J. Valverde while I had offers on the table.

How long do y'all give your slumping players?

How do y'all approach 'selling high' on hot players?

What other lessons have you learned this season (or in years past)?
jsphlly
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby The Big Stick » Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:10 am

Same with me I am not the most patient GM but, certain players depending on the reputation are just second half players. With rookies, it's hard to really make a solid assessment but prove veterans, I typical stick with because they have a track record. As far as selling high as a rule of thumb, I sell high on new unproven players for a more proven vet. I am not sure if there really a true science to fantasy sports, they most important thing is to keep you eyes and ears open for sleepers. I feel they win championships. That's what separates a really good GM vs mediocre one.
Signature by: RedWoodTree824
Minor League Mentor

Postby teddyballgamemvp » Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:33 am

I learned that if you decide to enter a new keeper league, KNOW WHO THE FARK THE TOP 100 PROSPECTS ARE.

Bah.
teddyballgamemvp
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Re: Lessons Learned

Postby sportsguy138 » Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:34 am