3%
"powned"
67%
"owned"
30%

Total votes : 30

pwned?

Postby dewey finn » Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:45 am

Ever since I started playing CS1.5 in 2000, I've pronounced it as "pawn", which I believe looks more natural and can differentiate it more than "powned". Pronouncing it as "owned" just seems weird to me since pwned is supposed to be like getting owned x10.

Hopefully ya'll are geeky enough to know what I'm talking about!
dewey finn
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Basketball

Postby bleach168 » Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:13 am

My friend pronounces it pah-owned.
bleach168
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicFantasy Expert
(Past Year: 16)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby shmolex » Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:23 am

i've only heard it pronounced poned
shmolex
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby teddy ballgame » Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:26 am

It's actually pronounced pooned. Like spooned without the s.
teddy ballgame
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicCafe WriterCafe RankerGraphics ExpertMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeWeb SupporterPick 3 Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner

Postby Coppermine » Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:54 am

I think it's pronounded "powned."

The origins of this come from an online game, maybe CS, maybe not. Apparently typing something like "owned" was a way to show your teams dominance over your rivals. Rumor has it that there was a game with a particularly annoying noob (or n00b) who was pretty bad at the game. After actually winning a round, said noob wrote pwned, clearly by accident, meaning to say owned. The guys on the other team quickly jumped on this typo by saying "pwned" after every head shot. Thus, pwned was born.

Lets see what Wikipedia has to add: