Jeter...steal or no steal??? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Jeter...steal or no steal???

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Jeter...steal or no steal???

Postby CoopernicusX » Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:54 pm

Saturday in the Mets/Yanks game, bottom of the 1st...Damon was on 2nd, Jeter was on 1st, and Giambi at the dish. The Yanks hit and run (double steal). Giambi strikes out. Damon gets thrown out at 3rd. Jeter goes to 2nd.

Does Jeter get credit for the steal? I ask because I own Jeter in both my leagues and Yahoo never credited Jeter with anything. But CBS did credit Jeter with a SB and then took it away later.

Anybody know what I am talking about?
"You can observe a lot by watching." - YOGI
CoopernicusX
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

User avatar

Posts: 57
Joined: 8 May 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Churchill Park, CT

Postby jlm53089 » Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:10 pm

I think he gets credited with a steal
Image
jlm53089
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Pick 3 Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 3058
(Past Year: 3)
Joined: 6 Feb 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Tampa, praying for a new stadium.

Postby Bozo » Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:12 pm

I always thought that if the guy on the front end of a double steal got thrown out then the guy on the back end doesn't get a steal. Not sure if that is true or if I just dreamt it (I have weird baseball dreams, I need help!).
Bozo
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 367
(Past Year: 12)
Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Knights » Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:17 pm

Interesting... it appears that he is NOT getting credit for the steal.

In my mind, I guess that the ruling would be that Jeter got to 2nd on deffensive indifference, and the defence made no attempt to throw him out.
Knights
Major League Manager
Major League Manager


Posts: 1005
(Past Year: 28)
Joined: 14 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby astav28 » Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:26 pm

Knights wrote:Interesting... it appears that he is NOT getting credit for the steal.

In my mind, I guess that the ruling would be that Jeter got to 2nd on deffensive indifference, and the defence made no attempt to throw him out.


i agree definitely....you always go for the guy at third usually (shorter throw), and the thought is that if they chose to get the guy at third, just like on a grounder choosing to step on third instead of throwing out the guy at first.
astav28
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 330
Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby DK » Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:52 pm

No, he is not credited with the steal in that situation. He basically advanced because his teammate got out? No way he deserves a SB there.
Image
DK
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle Eye
Posts: 9533
Joined: 22 Mar 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: on deck

Postby rainman23 » Mon Jul 03, 2006 7:23 pm

This appears to be the relevant section of the rule:

STOLEN BASES
10.08
d) When a double or triple steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before reaching and holding the base he is attempting to steal, no other runner shall be credited with a stolen base.
rainman23
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 937
Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby CoopernicusX » Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:49 pm

Well...I guess that settles that.

Thanks for the input.
"You can observe a lot by watching." - YOGI
CoopernicusX
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

User avatar

Posts: 57
Joined: 8 May 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Churchill Park, CT

Postby SmartassBoiler » Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:55 pm

rainman23 wrote:This appears to be the relevant section of the rule:

STOLEN BASES
10.08
d) When a double or triple steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before reaching and holding the base he is attempting to steal, no other runner shall be credited with a stolen base.


That makes sense...it's the same logic behind a fielder's choice not counting as a hit if the batter reaches first.
SmartassBoiler
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 455
Joined: 1 Jun 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Chicagoland

Postby rainman23 » Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:04 am

Yeah, I guess it's best to take something like this out of the official scorer's hands, and make it a matter of rule. Because you obviously aren't ever going to be able to predict whether the other guy would have made it if a play had been made on him. By the same logic, though, you might make a case that the trailing guy should NEVER get an SB if they make the play on the guy in front of him. He's basically just trailing on the lead guy's wake. I'm glad I don't have to make these rules.

So how do you score that play that put Jeter on second? Fielder's choice, I guess...?
rainman23
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 937
Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Next

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron
Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact