Ethics issue - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Ethics issue

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Ethics issue

Postby Gepfar » Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:34 am

I am in my second year of fantasy baseball (have been a long time fantasy football player, so I am faimiliar with fantasy sports). The baseball league itself is only in its second year and roughly half the owners are newbies like myself. In the first year, the commish policed all transactions very carefully...sort of looking out for the rookies. The problem with this is that every transaction was subject to his opinion. This year, the commish said at the beginning of the year he would not interfere and allow owners to make decisions for themselves, but strongly encouraged them to seek advice from the more experienced players in the league.

So, I recently made a deal with another owner that brought a high profile player to my team in exchange for 2 average players with decent stats so far this year (Actually the final deal was a counteroffer from the other owner). So, the commish allows the deal as he said he would, but basically feels I am ripping someone off who doesn't know better. I disagree that I am "ripping them off" but I do feel that I am definitely getting the better end of the deal. I am simply looking for ways to make my team better. From the other owners perspective, more experienced players likely would not have made the deal.

So is this unethical on my part? And if so, should I offer to reverse the trade?
Gep
Gepfar
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Fantasy Fan » Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:50 am

It'd be good to actually know what the trade was.
Fantasy Fan
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby RugbyD » Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:15 am