Lima Strategy - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Lima Strategy

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Lima Strategy

Postby ndirish84 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 3:23 am

I've seen this mentioned a few times on this board, and i have a question about it... what is it???

sorry guys im new to all of this
ndirish84 Beginner
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby klvrdude » Sat Jun 24, 2006 4:01 am

Low
Income
Mound
Aces

For an example think Derek Lowe.

The idea being that you spend the vast bulk of your budget on hitters and find those pitching steals like Lowe, Musina, Papelbon, etc.

Here's an article for you
klvrdude
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby johnsamo » Sat Jun 24, 2006 4:09 am

"It's no coincidence the now legendary Fantasy L.I.M.A. (Low Investment Mound Aces, named by Ron Shandler) strategy was derived from Jose Lima, who broke through at 21-10 with 187 strikeouts and a 3.58 ERA in 1999. He entered that year with 54 big-league starts under his belt. (The L.I.M.A. strategy suggests you pick starters on the cheap because breakouts can come from the depths of the position)"

Basically, the idea is, besides certain established stud, Starting pitching outcomes are too hard to predict and your better looking for middle of the road (so far pitchers) later in the draft who are entering their third year or so. And there are always guys who emerge who weren't even drafted.

In terms of payoff, you're more likely to get a good return on investment from hitters than pitchers, so spend the early round on hitting primarily, and then grab a bumch of middle of the road starters.

I think it's basically a strategy born from weaknesses though. In one off leagues where you don't have keepers, it probably works a lot, but in keeper leagues, Having a core dominate pitchers or finding the next up-and-coming group of dominant pitchers is essential.