No RBI when you GIDP - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

No RBI when you GIDP

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

No RBI when you GIDP

Postby klvrdude » Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:30 pm

Why is that? You get an RBI for a typical groundout.
klvrdude
Major League Manager
Major League Manager


Posts: 1010
Joined: 1 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby j24jags » Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:30 pm

The double play hurts the team more than the run helps the team.
Image
j24jags
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicCafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 10340
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby klvrdude » Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:44 pm

j24jags wrote:The double play hurts the team more than the run helps the team.


says who? a lot of games are won by a single run.
klvrdude
Major League Manager
Major League Manager


Posts: 1010
Joined: 1 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby j24jags » Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:48 pm

Says the MLB rulebook
Image
j24jags
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicCafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 10340
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Tavish » Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:06 pm

Most times when you GIDP the other team is conceeding the run in order to get the two outs.
Image

Bury me a Royal.
Tavish
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterWeb Supporter
Posts: 11071
(Past Year: 25)
Joined: 3 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby NZF » Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:28 pm

Another instance where baseball rules defy logic.
When you're right no one remembers, when you're wrong no one forgets - NZF
NZF
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Mock(ing) DrafterPick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 4795
Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Sitting in the Cake Tin enjoying a cold Speights

Postby klvrdude » Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:37 pm

Tavish wrote:Most times when you GIDP the other team is conceeding the run in order to get the two outs.


Agreed....

But teams also conceed the run somtimes with 1 out and a man on third if they were up but a few (especially later in the game) and a player who grounds out can still get an RBI.
klvrdude
Major League Manager
Major League Manager


Posts: 1010
Joined: 1 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby The Jury » Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:12 pm

I haven't read the MLB rulebook, maybe someone can answer this accurately off the top of his/her head:

A player is never awarded an RBI for grounding into a double play? Or is it simply that many double plays are force-outs ending the inning so the run does not count?
[quote:4fef447375="Geek"]The odds of the AL MVP coming from the American League are looking pretty good.[/quote]
The Jury
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 3328
Joined: 17 Feb 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Tavish » Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:13 pm

The Jury wrote:I haven't read the MLB rulebook, maybe someone can answer this accurately off the top of his/her head:

A player is never awarded an RBI for grounding into a double play? Or is it simply that many double plays are force-outs ending the inning so the run does not count?


Never.
Image

Bury me a Royal.
Tavish
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterWeb Supporter
Posts: 11071
(Past Year: 25)
Joined: 3 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby CadensDad » Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:43 pm

Tavish wrote:
The Jury wrote:I haven't read the MLB rulebook, maybe someone can answer this accurately off the top of his/her head:

A player is never awarded an RBI for grounding into a double play? Or is it simply that many double plays are force-outs ending the inning so the run does not count?


Never.



Never is the correct answer,

My thoughts on this is you are 1 player. You as 1 player made 2 out's therefore you actually hurt your teams cahnces. So you shouldn't get credit for the run that scored since you caused 2 outs.

On a bround ball you only get yourself out. Same applies with a GRD just my 2 cents though
Image

“Never argue with a idiot, because first they will bring you down to their level. Then beat you with experience.”
CadensDad
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5977
(Past Year: 2)
Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Next

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact