How does a fantasy auction work? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

How does a fantasy auction work?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

How does a fantasy auction work?

Postby Doughhead » Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:59 pm

Pardon the ignorance, but I am currently trying to gather some information on how auction drafts are run. I am a veteran of several snake drafts, but only recently began to consider the possibilities of an alternative method for team construction. I'm thinking my league should maybe begin to consider this alternative.

I figured that, as usual, the Cafe would have all the answers I needed. Could anybody humour me and give me a basic rundown of how a typical live auction would go? Feel free to include basic information like the amount of money each team can spend, etc.

Thanks.
DOUGHHEAD
Doughhead
General Manager
General Manager

Fantasy Expert
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby bigh0rt » Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:05 pm

Check out some of the Auction League FAQs in the Cafe League Forums down there. It's a good place to start. ;-D
bigh0rt
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicCafe WriterGraphics ExpertMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeInnovative MemberCafe MusketeerWeb SupporterPick 3 Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 322)

Postby George Bell » Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:48 pm

The auction is the only way to go. It takes some time, but eliminates the luck factor of draft position. And it is damn exciting.

I am involved in 3 tradional 4 x 4 rotisserie leagues, and while I think you can set up your auction any way you please in terms of team budgets and positional requirements, I do think the roto framework is best, but I admit a bias. This is also a keeper format.