Need Some BJ Upton Insight... - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Need Some BJ Upton Insight...

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Need Some BJ Upton Insight...

Postby Prooks25 » Wed May 24, 2006 4:22 am

I'm in a 16 team keeper league, and I have been holding BJ for 3 years now...only to get a few games out of him. He's always been such a highly touted prospect, especially at a shallow position like SS.

I'm starting to wonder if I should move him...He's only batting .280 in AAA, not showing much power, still sucks in the field, all he does real well is steal. Do you guys think he is still worth holding on to, or should I try and deal him. (I've been counting on him to be my starting SS for years now, I need his speed and such, so I've basically been going with fill in SS's just to buy time).
Prooks25
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

(Past Year: 3)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby hybrid » Wed May 24, 2006 5:58 am

Well first off I wouldn't worry about his numbers in the minors. He will be a .300 hitter with some good power (20+ hr), the only number to worry about is the number of errors. There is a good chance he could move off SS to 3B or even the OF. So if you really are looking for just a SS, you might want to look around and see what you can get for him. He has improved his fielding though, as his errors are mostly coming from throws now (not that it is good news) instead of fielding like last year.
hybrid
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicFantasy Expert

Postby raiders_umpire » Wed May 24, 2006 11:50 am