wrveres wrote:The Hold rule is exactly the same rule as the Save rule.
The only difference is one applies to the finish of the game.
I see the rules as being very different. For a start more than one player on each team can get holds in the same game. The save rule although not great (especially the ridiculous clause about pitching 3 effective innings even with your team potentially up by 20 runs) makes far more sense than does holds.
I do accept your point about utilising bullpens and maybe if the hold rule WAS the same as the save rule (ie. 8th inning set up guy holding a lead for the winning team) then that would at least have a little more credibility than the current situation.
I realize that more than one person can get a hold, but then again, with saves, there can only be 'one' ending to a game. Two saves in a game is therefore impossible, so they just call them holds
If you blow a 'hold', its credited as a 'blown save' ..
they are the same
but are you saying should only get a 'hold' for pitching the 8th inning?
What about closers if they come in, in the 8th inning?
Should they not get credit for the save then?
its a double edge sword cus they are the same stat.