Easy to fix computer problem? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Easy to fix computer problem?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Easy to fix computer problem?

Postby Absolutely Adequate » Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:59 pm

I'm visiting my sister for the Easter weekend and, for whatever reason, her computer is giving me some trouble. I assume that for some of you this will be an incredibly easy problem to fix.

When you type something into the address bar, nothing happens. It won't navigate. Thankfully, her homepage is google so I can search for the cafe and gmail and etc with no problem.

It sure would be nice to be able to type in web-addresses, though.

Any help?
Absolutely Adequate
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5000
Joined: 6 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Not here.

Postby Mookie4ever » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:11 pm

Turn off the computer and play with your niece for God's sake.

Welcome back AA.
Image
Mookie4ever
Head Moderator
Head Moderator

User avatar
ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterHockey ModBasketball ModFootball ModMatchup Meltdown ChampionPick 3 Weekly WinnerSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 19545
(Past Year: 277)
Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Hakuna, Montana

Postby Tavish » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:13 pm

If it won't do anything at all, start with the basics.

Internet Options -> Advanced -> Select the Option you want from the "Searching from the Address Bar"

Best case scenario that fixes it. Worst case the computer's been hijacked.
Image

Bury me a Royal.
Tavish
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterWeb Supporter
Posts: 11070
(Past Year: 25)
Joined: 3 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Madison » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:14 pm

Tried rebooting?

Firewall locking up?


No clue other than that. :-?
Yes doctor, I am sick.
Sick of those who are spineless.
Sick of those who feel self-entitled.
Sick of those who are hypocrites.
Yes doctor, an army is forming.
Yes doctor, there will be a war.
Yes doctor, there will be blood.....
Madison
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
ExecutiveEditorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterInnovative MemberCafe MusketeerPick 3 ChampionMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 53856
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Taking Souls...

Postby Absolutely Adequate » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:21 pm

Rebooting isn't an option: I'm watching the Mets game. I'll try that later.

I followed Tavish's suggestion and that improved it somewhat. Now I can go to sites I've been to before. However, new sites still don't work.

My sister and niece are asleep, Mookie. And the Mets are on.

Thanks, guys. Keep any ideas coming.

How would I know if the computer has been hijacked?
Absolutely Adequate
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5000
Joined: 6 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Not here.

Postby SaintsOfTheDiamond » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:32 pm

I assume it's IE? Does the computer have any Spy-Ware programs installed? That'd be my first suggestion. :-?
Image
Member #4 of the Inaugural Yadier Molina Fan Club!!!
SaintsOfTheDiamond
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Fantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe Ranker
Posts: 6480
Joined: 6 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Swiping second

Postby Tavish » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:36 pm

However, new sites still don't work.


Doesn't work as in doesn't do anything or does it bring up the DNS error page?
Image

Bury me a Royal.
Tavish
Mod in Retirement
Mod in Retirement

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe SpotterWeb Supporter
Posts: 11070
(Past Year: 25)
Joined: 3 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Absolutely Adequate » Fri Apr 14, 2006 10:38 pm

Tavish wrote:
However, new sites still don't work.


Doesn't work as in doesn't do anything or does it bring up the DNS error page?


It doesn't do anything.

Actually, I can only go to sites I've been to before if I click on the history suggestion they give.
Absolutely Adequate
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5000
Joined: 6 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Not here.

Postby TheRock » Sat Apr 15, 2006 1:24 am

Definitely run SpySweeper or something on it if you haven't. Might try re-installing IE, or introduce her to the wonderful world of Mozilla.
Image
TheRock
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
CafeholicCafe WriterMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 3055
(Past Year: 6)
Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: America's Heartland

Postby Rirruto » Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:05 am

Try installing, downloading the latest definitions, and running, Ad-aware. Delete anything it finds, only good can come from it. And as someone said before, Firefox is your friend.
Image
Rirruto
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Cafeholic
Posts: 2525
Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Mezzanine Section 12 @ Shea

Next

Return to General Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daicekl and 2 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact