Madison wrote:What 3 inning rule? As far as I know there is no such thing.
When Donnelly came into the game in the top of the 8th it was 3-0 which is a save opportunity. The Angels scored 2 more in the bottom of the inning to make it 5-0. Donnelly finished the game and got the save because it was a save situation when he came into the game, and he finished it.
The actual rule for ya Madison,Save Rule
10.20 Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions:
(1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and
(2) He is not the winning pitcher; and
(3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions:
(a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or
(b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or
(c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings.
No more than one save may be credited in each game.
I think Jung Bong got a save from the 3 inning rule once this year.