Head2Head; Playoffs Optional - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Head2Head; Playoffs Optional

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Head2Head; Playoffs Optional

Postby dogra » Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:26 pm

Hello,

I'm new to this board, and I was wondering if anyone could help me with a question. I posted it in a newbie forum and was told I should post it in this section.

I have been a fantasy manager at Yahoo for a number of years now -- mostly basketball, but also a couple of years for baseball.

My baseball league is strongly considering a move to a head-to-head style of scoring. Most of us love it as it adds the excitement of teams playing teams, and opportunities for good-natured trash talk on a weekly basis.

Here's the problem -- none of us like the playoff system very much. It seems to give you two winners; one the regular season champ (usually the best team overall), and the playoff champ (usually the hottest team at the end).

Do you know of any reliable site that offers head-to-head leagues WITHOUT playoffs?

I honestly don't see why this isn't an option at Yahoo. About 80% of the managers I've spoken to love the head to head style, but think the unrealistic playoff system cheapens the ultimate championship.

I've done a bunch of google searches but come up empty. Can anyone help me? Does H2H without playoffs even exist? :~(
dogra
Little League Legend
Little League Legend

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby dogra » Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:07 pm

Since originally posting this. I did find one website that seems to offer fanatasy baseball without playoffs -- Sandbox.com.

http://fantasygames.sandboxplus.com/200 ... lcount.asp

I don't know much about them, which makes it hard to convince my leaguemates to make the jump. It also, unfortunately, is not free. I think it will cost each manager about $30 or $40. This is also leading to some resisitance.

Any help out there guys? Other alternatives?