Strategy for H2H leagues with TONS of categories - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Strategy for H2H leagues with TONS of categories

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Postby schmidty » Wed Mar 08, 2006 2:32 pm

I'm pretty new to FB and someone asked me about joining their H2H league (just a "for fun" league), with a 12 team limit on Yahoo. But I'm kind of taken aback by the scoring categories the commisioner set up for it. There are 30 categories: R, 1B, 2B, 3B, HR, RBI, SB, CS, BB, HBP, K, TB, AVG, OBP, W, L, CG, SHO, SV, ER, HR, BB, HBP, K, WP, HLD, TB, ERA, WHIP. There is min IP of 21/wk (which looks pretty essential, because otherwise you'd dominate in 10/15 pitching categories with just relievers). My mind boggles at the thought of so many categories. What alternate strategy (if any) does one have in this case, as opposed to a more standard 5x5? At least initially, it looks like the best approach would be to draft the most balanced team you can, and not worry about any "oddball" categories. Any other ideas?
schmidty
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Cafeholic
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Eagle Baseball » Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:13 pm

With that many catagories just try to have a balanced team and don't worry about any one stat. That being said and saying that I have never played in a league like this I do think that I would concentrate on speed more than in a 5X5 league.
Eagle Baseball
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby kemper5 » Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:15 pm

My league is almost identical scoring wise, I have every catagory but 3 (OBP,TB,WHIP). True in that you really have to get well rounded guys. Pitching is extremely valuable in my league (10 pt for W,SV and only -5 for L,BS) So usually pitchers score tons of points.. Good Luck!
kemper5
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Football

Postby swyck » Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:55 pm