Excel help (sorry lol) - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Excel help (sorry lol)

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Excel help (sorry lol)

Postby gostanford07 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:02 am

Alright, let me start off by warning you that I have basically no background in excel, so this may be a stupid question. Anyway, let's say that I have multiple sources of projected stats and want to combine them to one spreadsheet using averages of each source. I did some searching and found a recent post on the topic, but could not quite understand it. Do all of my players from each position need to be in the same order? If so, then is there an easy way to make one column uniform for all of the different sources? Any help is greatly appreciated... and please bear with me since I'm relatively new to spreadsheets.
gostanford07
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Eagle Eye
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby screwyinstlouie » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:29 am

I suppose you could set up indiv. sheets on your Excel file for each projection source, then create a summary sheet and link the formulas to each source...

Sheet1 - Abreu (in cell +A2) 30 (for proj 30 HR's in Cell +B2)
Sheet2 - Abreu (also in Cell +A2) 26 (for proj 26 HR's; also Cell +B2)
Sheet3 - (summary) - Abreu (Cell +A2); Cell +B2 =+('Sheet1'!B2+'Sheet2'!B2)/2
you should get 28 HRs avg

But it would get tricky unless you had the same number of players and stats, and as you suggested, in the same order on all the sheets (rows for players as well as columns for stats).

I'm no expert on databases, but it sounds to me like a database program such as Microsoft Access or Lotus Approach might serve you better. Good luck to you.
screwyinstlouie
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby The Jury » Mon Mar 06, 2006 12:31 pm