Auction rookie needs help - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Auction rookie needs help

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Auction rookie needs help

Postby Ed Whitson » Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:37 am

OK guys, I'm a veteran in fantasy baseball but have always played a straight draft league. This year I'm going to throw my hat into an auction league. I need some draft philosophy, bidding strategy, and any major differences in approach between auction and straight draft setups. League is a 6x6 H2H keeper league. Cats are 5x5 plus OBP and Batting avg. against. 12 teams. Thanks
Ed Whitson
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Amazinz » Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:21 pm

Ed,

This is a broad topic and there are probably one-hundred strategies that all work if applied correctly. I will outline what I feel are the most important points for the new person to recognize prior to their first auction.

In a straight draft you go round-by-round selecting the best player available based on your values and the only real management that you have to perform is making sure that you field a valid team. Here’s a contrived example: Let’s say that you select 1st overall and draft Pujols. Fear of a chronic back condition has caused Vlad to drop and he drops so far that he makes it back to you at pick #24. What to do you do? The answer is simple: You take Vlad with your 2nd pick and pat yourself on the back because you now have a serious leg up on your competition.