Last place...Help/Suggestions? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Last place...Help/Suggestions?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Last place...Help/Suggestions?

Postby daveed » Mon Apr 15, 2002 4:35 pm

Hi,
This is my first time playing fantasy bball and I've
been in dead last since my league has started.

I've been reading this board and enjoying the insights
you all share.

So this is my team:
1B- Konerko, Sweeney
2B- Biggio
SS-Tejada
3B-Beltre,Burroughs
C- Pudge
OF- D.Ward,Burrell,Cedeno,Green,Erstad, Everrett
SP- Martinez,Dempster, Padilla, Burnett, Beckett, B.Smith, Rauch
RP- Percival, Gagne

I've been tweaking my team like crazy since the league started.
I am improving but I am still getting smoked. I know I have a
lot Marlins P's, but they're damn good. btw, my league is h to h.

Any reccomendations for me?
Thanks
daveed

Home Cafe: Football
Friendliness: %

solid

Postby cwebb » Mon Apr 15, 2002 8:12 pm

Your team looks sold but you don't have any studs. You'll have to risk a lot by picking up free agents or try to acquire fantasy studs who are underachieving now for guys that put up great numbers now.

Try to get a closer from free agents! You need more saves and maybe you can trade one of your starters for an offense guy and replace your pitcher with Fogg, Lawrence, Prior, Astacio or other pitchers on hot streaks (repeat all season long, and drop them before next seasons draft)
cwebb
Bouncer
Bouncer

Fantasy ExpertCafe WriterEagle EyePick 3 Weekly Winner

Postby Arlo » Mon Apr 15, 2002 8:19 pm

Hi daveed - good to see you on the board. Basically, an evaluation of your roster depends on a couple factors, namely:

How many teams are in your league? If there are 20, this is an amazing team; if there are 10, you're still in decent shape, but rising to the top won't be qwuite as easy.