H2H Playoff ethics...final day strategy? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

H2H Playoff ethics...final day strategy?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

H2H Playoff ethics...final day strategy?

Postby socceryank » Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:42 am

I am currently ahead 6-4 going into the final day tomorrow. It would appear that I am guaranteed to clinch 5 of those positions regardless of how my team does. The one category that is up for grabs is AVG. I believe that if I benched my entire starting lineup, my opponent would not be able to catch me, whereas he could if I had a bad day. Would you guys think this was unethical? This is my first year doing H2H, and do not want to go against any "unwritten rules."

BTW...I cannot catch him in any other batting category.
C M. Montero
1B AGonz
2B Uggla
3B Zimmermann
SS Jeter
OF J Upton, McCutcheon, Choo
Util Kendrys Morales
BN Pena
DL Gardner
SP Gallardo, Bumgarner, Latos, Zimmermann, Luebke, Jaime Garcia, Hughes, Burnett
RP League, Marshall, Betancourt
socceryank
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

(Past Year: 1)
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby mweir145 » Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:41 am

I've done that before, and I don't see that as unethical, though I've been known to be "wrong" before. :-b

But really, you aren't doing hindering the other guy's success, and from what I know of the rules, you can bench anybody you want on any day. So go ahead. ;-D

BTW, in my matchup this week, because the guy is behind by 20 or so ks, and 4 wins, he dropped 5 members of his team tonight, and picked up 5 spot starters in an attempt to win those categories. He has to win them (as he is far behind in most of the others that I'm currently leading in), or else he will be relagated to the 3rd place game next week. I've used this strategy before, and I see nothing wrong with it, but I'm not sure if it's entirely "ethical."

Does anybody think it's not?
mweir145