testing that whole" NO such thing as a dumb question"theory - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

testing that whole" NO such thing as a dumb question"theory

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Postby Absolutely Adequate » Tue Jun 21, 2005 9:58 am

As long as we're asking questions:

Lets say that Pitcher A is pitching to Batter Y. Pitcher A gets the count to 2-1 and then the manager decides he's seen enough. He calls in Pitcher B who has had a lot of sucess against Batter Y. Of course, the other manager knows this and brings in Batter Z. Pitcher B gets a quick strike before throwing two way out of the strike zone.

Who walked who? Who is credited with giving up the walk and who is credited with receiving it?
Last edited by Absolutely Adequate on Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Absolutely Adequate
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5000
Joined: 6 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Not here.

K

Postby Chocolate Thunder » Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:22 am

Absolutely Adequate wrote:As long as we're asking questions:

Lets say that Pitcher A is pitching to Batter Y. Pitcher A gets the count to 1-2 and then the manager decides he's seen enough. He calls in Pitcher B who has had a lot of sucess against Batter Y. Of course, the other manager knows this and brings in Batter Z. Pitcher B gets a quick strike before throwing two way out of the strike zone.

Who walked who? Who is credited with giving up the walk and who is credited with receiving it?


With the count at 1-2 and Pitcher B throwing a quick strike, Pitcher B would have struck out Batter Z.
Chocolate Thunder Beginner
Little League Legend
Little League Legend


Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: K

Postby Absolutely Adequate » Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:31 am

Chocolate Thunder wrote:With the count at 1-2 and Pitcher B throwing a quick strike, Pitcher B would have struck out Batter Z.


Pardon me. I meant 2-1
Absolutely Adequate
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5000
Joined: 6 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Not here.

BB

Postby Chocolate Thunder » Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:43 am

Figured as much, I was just being difficult.

I believe Pitcher B and Batter Z would each get the walk regardless of the other players' efforts.
Chocolate Thunder Beginner
Little League Legend
Little League Legend


Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: BB

Postby Absolutely Adequate » Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:51 am

Chocolate Thunder wrote:Figured as much, I was just being difficult.

I believe Pitcher B and Batter Z would each get the walk regardless of the other players' efforts.


If, when pitchers are changed, the count is 2 balls, no strike, 2 balls, 1 strike, 3 balls, no strike, 3 balls, 1 strike, 3 balls, 2 strikes, and the batter gets a base on balls, charge that batter and the base on balls to the preceding pitcher, not to the relief pitcher


However, I am pretty sure that the batter that recieves the last couple of balls is credited with the walk.

In other words, I think that a batter does not have to face a pitcher and yet can recieve a walk from him. I think pitcher A is charged with a walk to batter Z.
Absolutely Adequate
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 5000
Joined: 6 Jan 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Not here.

Postby buffalobillsrul2002 » Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:12 pm

Yeah I agree with AA. I'm fairly certain of this rule too.
buffalobillsrul2002
Major League Manager
Major League Manager


Posts: 1349
(Past Year: 5)
Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Dawgpound 1613 » Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:34 pm

I'm 99% sure that:

Pitcher A gets the walk charged to him and Player Z gets credit for the walk.

If Pitcher B struck out hitter Z, though, that Pitcher B gets credit for the K and hitter Z is still charged with the strikeout.

In regards to the original questions:

Whoever actually scores the run gets credit for the run.

Whoever put the runner on base gets charged with the run, even if that runner gets replaced by another baserunner or hitter on a fielder's choice (since if not for the original baserunner, the subsequent hitter would not have reached base on the force out - he would have simply been out).

Now, if the reliever comes in, gets a DP and then walks the next hitter and this guy scores, the reliever gets charged with the run.
Dawgpound 1613
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar
Sweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 2095
Joined: 7 Oct 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: \Lo*ca"tion\, n. 1. The act or process of locating. 2. Situation; place; locality.

Previous

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: apz, ensanimal and 8 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Wednesday, Sep. 17
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

LA Dodgers at Colorado
(3:10 pm)
San Francisco at Arizona
(3:40 pm)
Toronto at Baltimore
(7:05 pm)
Boston at Pittsburgh
(7:05 pm)
Washington at Atlanta
(7:10 pm)
Miami at NY Mets
(7:10 pm)
NY Yankees at Tampa Bay
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Cincinnati at Chi Cubs
(8:05 pm)
Cleveland at Houston
(8:10 pm)
Chi White Sox at Kansas City
(8:10 pm)
Detroit at Minnesota
(8:10 pm)
Milwaukee at St. Louis
(8:15 pm)
Seattle at LA Angels
(10:05 pm)
Texas at Oakland
(10:05 pm)
Philadelphia at San Diego
(10:10 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact