This might seem a little weird, but this happened the other day in a high school game and I was wondering if anyone could clarify what the correct ruling should be.
There's runners on first and second, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to deep right field, runner on second tags and goes to third.
The runner on first unknowingly doesn't tag and advances to second. As I understand it, he can be doubled off first any time before the next pitch is thrown.
After that, time is called and a pinch runner comes in for the runner now at second. The runner comes in and the next guy is up to bat when the defense realizes the original runner never tagged up and he runs to first and doubles the new pinch runner off.
Should the pinch runner be out because the pitcher never threw his next pitch, or safe because the play was called dead when the pinch runner came in?