general question re: when to drop vs trade - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

general question re: when to drop vs trade

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

general question re: when to drop vs trade

Postby IvanX » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:34 am

This is my first year playing fantasy ball, and I've built a team I'm pretty happy with. However, I find myself having a hard time dropping anybody even when there are better FA's available because I'm worried that a player has too much "trade value" to drop outright. On my team, good examples of this are Dmitri Young, who I like but is effectively redundant with Morneau and Feliz, and Mike Lowell, who is highly ranked but has spent the whole year in a slump.

What are your thoughts on dropping "tradeable" players? My hesitancy make means I don't make some moves I should, and instead I have guys who sit on my bench most of the time when I could, for example, add another SP or two.

Thanks for any insight.

Yahoo Head-to-Head standard, 10 teams, 9B/9P/3BN/2DL, stats R, HR, RBI, SB, K, GIDP, OBP, SLG, W, L, SV, K, HR, ERA, WHIP.

Current roster:
C Gregg Zaun (TOR) [C]
1B Justin Morneau (MIN) [OF]
2B Tadahito Iguchi (CWS) [2B]
3B Chone Figgins (LAA) [2B/SS/3B/OF]
SS Pedro Feliz (SF) [1B/SS/3B/OF]
OF Garret Anderson (LAA) [OF]
OF Hideki Matsui (NYY) [OF]
OF Vernon Wells (TOR) [OF]
Util José Guillén (WSH) [OF]
BN Dmitri Young (DET) [1B]
BN Mike Lowell (FLA) [3B]
BN Frank Thomas (CWS) [DH]
DL Vladimir Guerrero (LAA) [OF] (on DL)

SP Roger Clemens (HOU) [SP]
SP Josh Beckett (FLA) [SP]
SP Dontrelle Willis (FLA) [SP]
RP Bob Wickman (CLE) [SP]
RP Francisco Rodríguez (LAA) [RP]
P Ryan Dempster (CHC) [RP]
P Scot Shields (LAA) [RP]
P Jon Garland (CWS) [SP]
P Kelvim Escobar (LAA) [SP]
IvanX Beginner
College Coach
College Coach

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby rlee » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:45 am