Quick! About to Reformat.... - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

Quick! About to Reformat....

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Quick! About to Reformat....

Postby blankman » Fri May 20, 2005 12:42 pm

I've been planninng on reformatting this computer for awhile now. It's got a bunch of problems as well as 2 windows installations, one of which is broken. I've never done it before but I really don't think I'll have any problems with doing it.

Here are some of the things I've done to prepare, all saved to an external hard drive:
-copied my documents to external
-copied installers for most downloaded programs
-made a list of programs i have and use
-copied the savegames files for my games
-made a list of my firefox bookmarks

Stuff to make sure I do when I get Windows XP Home installed:
-install drivers
-set up all virus software before connecting to the internet
-install programs
-"disable IE"
-install Firefox
-update all software

Am I missing anything? Any tips? And how long can I expect this to take?
blankman
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Graphics Expert
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby BigMusky » Fri May 20, 2005 12:54 pm

Make sure you have a full XP install instead of the upgrade only. If you have the upgrade you will have to put windows 98/ME on your computer first. The XP upgrade will not work with 2000.
BigMusky
General Manager
General Manager

Sweet 16 Survivor

Postby blankman » Fri May 20, 2005 12:59 pm

BigMusky wrote:Make sure you have a full XP install instead of the upgrade only. If you have the upgrade you will have to put windows 98/ME on your computer first. The XP upgrade will not work with 2000.

Yeah, I do. It's a pretty new computer and came with XP Home. I've reinstalled Windows before on here. Thanks
blankman
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Graphics Expert

Postby slomo007 » Fri May 20, 2005 4:44 pm