midseason draft strategy? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

midseason draft strategy?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

midseason draft strategy?

Postby jackuh » Thu May 22, 2003 4:34 pm

Draft is tomorrow afternoon. This is my first year playing fantasy baseball. What advice would you give this newbie? Thanks.
jackuh
Softball Supervisor
Softball Supervisor

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby YankFan51 » Thu May 22, 2003 4:44 pm

here's one if you want to be my guinea pig. Assuming the draft is 5 by 5 format, draft only for hitting(elite guys, who can steal, HR, score runs, hit for AVG, etc) and closers. Grab starting pitching with the last 4 or 5 rounds. And then what you do is drop and add pitchers every day who are starting the next day against a bad hitting team. That way your offense is so amazing from shafting your pitching in the draft, you should be able to carry the offensive categories. And if you can get 3 or 4 starters going everyday, and draft good closers, you can win the Ws, Saves, and Ks category at least.
My hair's turnin' white, my neck's always been red, my collar's still blue
We've always been here tryin' to sing the truth to you
Guess you could say we've always been red white and blue
"Red White and Blue," Lynyrd Skynyrd
YankFan51
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Mock(ing) Drafter

Postby BankRoll » Thu May 22, 2003 4:56 pm

Along the same lines, what you could do is get two good middle relievers, which will equate to one top tier pitcher. Food for thought. Check it out:

Combined numbers of Brad Lidge and Johan Santana (who might not even be drafted unless it's a pretty deep league):
5W 1SV 66K 2.07ERA 1.11WHIP in 61IP

Pedro Martinez
4W 0SV 62K 2.83ERA 1.03WHIP in 60.1IP