Points league veterans - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2015 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Points league veterans

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Points league veterans

Postby Dodger Blue » Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:43 pm

I'm joining a point league with the following points spread for pitching stats.

W (30), L (-15), SV (30), H (-5), ER (-10), BB (-3), HBP (-3), K (3)

Is there any reason to get any pitchers except top tier ones. You have get a win (30) but give up 2 ER (-20) and 3 hits (-15) and still lose points. I see value for closers but starters? Any suggestions?
Dodger Blue
General Manager
General Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Mustangs989 » Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:49 pm

Truthfully with that scoring system most SP pitchers are probably negatives, even the studs. Closers should score more with SV being worth as much as W, plus they don't give up as many hits or BB or ER because they pitch less innings.

I'm no expert in PTS leagues though, I've only been in 2 of them.
Mustangs989
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicFantasy ExpertGraphics ExpertMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeSweet 16 Survivor

Postby Tiki Barber's Barber » Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:51 pm

Mustangs989 wrote:Truthfully with that scoring system most SP pitchers are probably negatives, even the studs. Closers should score more with SV being worth as much as W, plus they don't give up as many hits or BB or ER because they pitch less innings.

I'm no expert in PTS leagues though, I've only been in 2 of them.

ya, grab some closers with that scoring system.
Tiki Barber's Barber
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

Postby rs2k2 » Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:59 pm

i'd abandon starters completely, if you have any stud pitchers, trade them for starters...

think about it, starters at most have a chance to win 2 games a week and they average about 2-4 ER per start

closers have the chance to save ~5 games a week and average about an ER every 6-9 appearances
rs2k2