Is this considered a save opp? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Is this considered a save opp?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Is this considered a save opp?

Postby sportsgalore » Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:16 pm

Man on 1st, 2 outs, up by 4 runs when you enter the game?
sportsgalore
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 209
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby Mustangs989 » Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:17 pm

No.
Image
Mustangs989
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
CafeholicFantasy ExpertGraphics ExpertMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeSweet 16 Survivor
Posts: 5540
Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Maybe next year...

Postby rfa94wp98 » Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:22 pm

unless i'm mistaken, the tying run has to be either on base, at bat, or on deck for a save to occur - outside of your typical 3 run or less lead.
rfa94wp98
College Coach
College Coach

User avatar
Eagle Eye
Posts: 333
Joined: 6 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby sportsgalore » Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:24 pm

ok, so if there were 2 men on, then it's a save opp - got it
sportsgalore
College Coach
College Coach


Posts: 209
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby agchris02 » Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:43 pm

quoting from the MLB rulebook (posted on yahoo and mlb):


Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions:

(1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and

(2) He is not the winning pitcher; and

(3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions:

(a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or

(b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or

(c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.

A pitcher who records the final out for the winning team WILL NOT be credited with a save in the following situations:

(1) He enters the game in the final inning with a 3-run lead and nobody on base, but does not complete a full inning. Under these conditions, a pitcher must complete one full inning to earn a save.

(2) A pitcher cannot create his own save situation. For example, if a pitcher enters the game in the final inning with a 5-0 lead and nobody on base, he will not earn a save by allowing four runs before recording the final out.

(3) Pitching the final inning for the winning team does not guarantee a save. Please refer to conditions a, b and c above when determining if a pitcher entered the game under save conditions.
Jackalope
agchris02
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1562
Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Dallas Tx


Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: scarnicease and 5 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Monday, Jul. 28
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

San Diego at Atlanta
(12:10 pm)
Milwaukee at Tampa Bay
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Philadelphia at NY Mets
(7:10 pm)
Washington at Miami
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Arizona at Cincinnati
(7:10 pm)
Toronto at Boston
(7:10 pm)
Colorado at Chi Cubs
(8:05 pm)
NY Yankees at Texas
(8:05 pm)
Oakland at Houston
(8:10 pm)
Pittsburgh at San Francisco
(10:15 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact