Help! - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Help!

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Help!

Postby Dan Charette » Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:02 am

Hi, I'm new to roto 5x5. When I drafted my team, I thought I was in a points league, with a different format. I didn't draft any closers, because in the other format I didn't need them.
But with it being a 5x5 league , I need closers My question is, Should I punt saves, or should I try to trade for closers. The offers I've had so far stink. Is there a way to win 5x5 without saves?
Thanks,
Dan
Dan Charette
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby CrazyPooja90 » Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:06 am

Haha, I made a similar mistake the first time in my league. You probably need to find a closer. Could you show us your team so we could figure where you have some slack.
"I'm going to meet the greatest umpire of all, and he knows I'm innocent."

-Shoeless Joe Jackson
CrazyPooja90
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

Postby Rance Mulliniks » Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:23 am

It's pretty hard to win a 12 team 5x5 punting a category (usual candidates are saves or SB). Might finish second, but to be first, you would have to be pretty dominant everywhere else.

I'd try to trade for a closer and then vulture a closer off the WW when one of the teams with a shaky closer (Col, AZ, KC etc.) make a switch.
Mulliniks Watch: Still stuck on 1325 games 3569 AB 445 R 972 H 73 HR 435 RBI 0.272 AVG 15 SB
Rance Mulliniks
General Manager
General Manager

CafeholicPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly WinnerTrivia Time Trial Monthly Winner
(Past Year: 27)

Help

Postby Dan Charette » Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:37 am

Hi, Here is my roster: C, Barrett, Larue 1b, Morneau 2b,Loretta 3b,Huff, ss, Rollins, OF, Abreau,Dunn,Matsui,L. Gonzalez, A. Sanchez Util. Sweeney,D. Wright