My own personal Office Space - need insight - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to General Talk

My own personal Office Space - need insight

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

My own personal Office Space - need insight

Postby Sticky Spice » Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:38 am

I'll try not to make this too long - I appreciate any insights you guys might have.

I work as a non-sworn employee at a police department where there are very few opportunities for civilians. I have worked there for five years.

In fact, above me the only opportunities for civilians are Records Supervisor and what equates to the Chief's Secretary. About two years ago the Chief's Secretary position came available and for some reason it was never announced in-house, and I never had an opportunity to apply.

The person he hired didn't work out. The position is now available again and I applied. In fact, I am the only person inside the department that did. The field has been narrowed to six, and I am not one of them. Six outside people are being considered including the wife of one of the county commissioners (who decide our budget) and the wife of a chief of police from a nearby small town.

In other words, I am so not being considered that I will not even be getting an interview. When the position came up last time one female in my unit did apply and she got an interview.

This essentially is telling me that I cannot even aspire to be promoted. I'm just not sure what to do next. I can file a grievance, but all that would come of that is trouble for me and a lame effort at giving me an interview. This reeks of reverse sexual harrassment, although I never would go there.