Who gets the wins? - Fantasy Baseball Cafe 2014 Fantasy Baseball Cafe
100% Deposit Bonus for Cafe Members!

Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who gets the wins?

Moderator: Baseball Moderators

Who gets the wins?

Postby kickureface » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:34 am

I was expecting Oswalt to get a win today, as he pitched 6 innings and they won. Instead they awarded the win to some other player.
What am I missing here?
12x23
Keep: 1IF, 1OF, 1SP, 1RP
R, HR, RBI, AVG, SB, BB, K, 1B, 2B, (3B, E, GS)
W, SV, K, ERA, WHIP, BB, HLD, IP, QS, (L, BS, CG)

C: Montero
1B: Teix
2B: Roberts
3B: Longoria
SS: Nishioka
LF: Holliday
CF: Rios
RF: Bruce
OF: Pence
IF: Kila
Util: Raburn
kickureface
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 420
Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby foeplay » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:39 am

After his last inning the score was 4-4, therefore he wasn't in line for the victory. In order to get the W, his team must have a lead when he leaves and his bullpen must hold it the rest of the way. If the opposing team ends up tying the game up or losing his lead then regaining it, he can no longer get the win. The pitcher who was throwing when they regain the lead (in this case Sampson) gets the Win and again it must be maintained the rest of the way or the cycle repeats itself.
Image
foeplay
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor

User avatar

Posts: 380
Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Orange County

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby fezzik » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:44 am

foeplay wrote:After his last inning the score was 4-4, therefore he wasn't in line for the victory. In order to get the W, his team must have a lead when he leaves and his bullpen must hold it the rest of the way. If the opposing team ends up tying the game up or losing his lead then regaining it, he can no longer get the win. The pitcher who was throwing when they regain the lead gets the Win and again it must be maintained the rest of the way or the cycle repeats itself.


If he pitches 5+ innings and is the last pitcher on his team to record an out would be a little more accurate IMO. If he pitches the top half of the sixth and leaves while losing, but his team comes back to take the lead in the bottom of the sixth, he would be in line for the win.

Anyway, that wasn't the case in this scenario, but I figured I'd make a point of clarification. ;-D
Image
fezzik
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Eagle Eye
Posts: 2415
Joined: 9 Feb 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Inside my head

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby Steve-o » Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:59 am

When in doubt, go to the rules.

10.19 (a) Credit the starting pitcher with a game won only if he has pitched at least five complete innings and his team not only is in the lead when he is replaced but remains in the lead the remainder of the game.

(b) The "must pitch five complete innings" rule in respect to the starting pitcher shall be in effect for all games of six or more innings. In a five inning game, credit the starting pitcher with a game won if he has pitched at least four complete innings and his team not only is in the lead when he is replaced but remains in the lead the remainder of the game.

(c) When the starting pitcher cannot be credited with the victory because of the provisions of 10.19 (a) or (b) and more than one relief pitcher is used, the victory shall be awarded on the following basis:

(1) When, during the tenure of the starting pitcher, the winning team assumes the lead and maintains it to the finish of the game, credit the victory to the relief pitcher judged by the scorer to have been the most effective;

(2) Whenever the score is tied the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning and losing pitcher is concerned;

(3) Once the opposing team assumes the lead all pitchers who have pitched up to that point are excluded from being credited with the victory except that if the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher;

(4) The winning relief pitcher shall be the one who is the pitcher of record when his team assumes the lead and maintains it to the finish of the game.

EXCEPTION: Do not credit a victory to a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when a succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain the lead. In such cases, credit the succeeding relief pitcher with the victory.

(d) When a pitcher is removed for a substitute batter or substitute runner, all runs scored by his team during the inning in which he is removed shall be credited to his benefit in determining the pitcher of record when his team assumes the lead.

(e) Regardless of how many innings the first pitcher has pitched, he shall be charged with the loss of the game if he is replaced when his team is behind in the score, or falls behind because of runs charged to him after he is replaced, and his team thereafter fails either to tie the score or gain the lead.

(f) No pitcher shall be credited with pitching a shutout unless he pitches the complete game, or unless he enters the game with none out before the opposing team has scored in the first inning, puts out the side without a run scoring and pitches all the rest of the game. When two or more pitchers combine to pitch a shutout a notation to that effect should be included in the league's official pitching records.

(g) In some non championship games (such as the Major League All Star Game) it is provided in advance that each pitcher shall work a stated number of innings, usually two or three. In such games, it is customary to credit the victory to the pitcher of record, whether starter or reliever, when the winning team takes a lead which it maintains to the end of the game, unless such pitcher is knocked out after the winning team has a commanding lead, and the scorer believes a subsequent pitcher is entitled to credit for the victory.
In my fridge: Founders Kentucky Breakfast Stout (KBS), Central Waters Peruvian Morning, Bell's Batch 10,000, Dale's Pale Ale, Capital Brewery Amber, New Glarus Moon Man, and Guinness.
Steve-o
Major League Manager
Major League Manager

User avatar

Posts: 1879
Joined: 7 May 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball
Location: Finally back home. A sweet 15 mi from Miller Park.

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby kickureface » Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:08 am

thanks got some information but now more confused. bleh.

could a releiver get a save + win? if not, what would he get and who gets the other?
12x23
Keep: 1IF, 1OF, 1SP, 1RP
R, HR, RBI, AVG, SB, BB, K, 1B, 2B, (3B, E, GS)
W, SV, K, ERA, WHIP, BB, HLD, IP, QS, (L, BS, CG)

C: Montero
1B: Teix
2B: Roberts
3B: Longoria
SS: Nishioka
LF: Holliday
CF: Rios
RF: Bruce
OF: Pence
IF: Kila
Util: Raburn
kickureface
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 420
Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby auclairkeithbc » Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:24 am

a reliever can only get a save or a win, not both.

SITUATION 1) RELIEVER ENTERS GAME WITH TIE SCORE OR HIS TEAM LOSING

if the reliever comes into the game with a tie score or with his team losing, and that reliever's team takes the lead by the time the next reliever comes into the game (or if the game ends with that reliever on the mound with the lead), then the reliever is eligible for the win, as long as that reliever's team KEEPS that lead the rest of the game. if the other team ties it up, then the next reliever will have a chance to get the win, the same way the original reliever had that chance.

The reliever could come in the game and give up a few runs, but as long as in the next half inning when his team bats, his team takes the lead and never gives it up, he'll be eligible for the win.

SITUATION 2) RELIEVER ENTERS GAME WITH THIS TEAM WINNING

if the reliever comes into the game with the lead, he will not be eligible for the win, unless he blows the lead, leaving the game tied or his team behind, AND his team scores enough runs in the next half inning to give the team the lead and never gives it up.

assuming the reliever does not give up the lead, then some pitcher that pitched before him will get the win (could be the starter or a reliever that came into the game with a tie score like in the situation described above).

that reliever coming into the game with the lead, can get a save if he finishes the game and meets certain requirements. typically closers come into the game in the 9th inning with a 3 run lead or LESS. if he finishes the game without giving up the lead, he gets the save. there are other ways of getting saves, like finishing a game with 3 strong innings of relief, and some other ways, but mainly it is coming into the 9th inning with a 1-3 run lead.

if the reliever comes into the game with a 3 run lead or less and doesn't blow the lead, but is replaced by another reliever, he will get a HOLD. some leagues use holds, but probably not the ones you are in.
i'm the guy that puts the "nip" in omnipotent...
auclairkeithbc
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 3181
Joined: 5 Nov 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby kickureface » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:26 am

http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/boxscore?gameId=290424102

so today, papelbon didnt get a save. some other guy got a win from 1 inning pitched though.

is the following correct:

pap went in tied, left inning tied.
ramirez goes in tied, left inning tied. boston scores. then ramierz gets the W.

right? who gets the save though?
12x23
Keep: 1IF, 1OF, 1SP, 1RP
R, HR, RBI, AVG, SB, BB, K, 1B, 2B, (3B, E, GS)
W, SV, K, ERA, WHIP, BB, HLD, IP, QS, (L, BS, CG)

C: Montero
1B: Teix
2B: Roberts
3B: Longoria
SS: Nishioka
LF: Holliday
CF: Rios
RF: Bruce
OF: Pence
IF: Kila
Util: Raburn
kickureface
Minor League Mentor
Minor League Mentor


Posts: 420
Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Who gets the wins?

Postby auclairkeithbc » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:37 am

kickureface wrote:http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/boxscore?gameId=290424102

so today, papelbon didnt get a save. some other guy got a win from 1 inning pitched though.

is the following correct:

pap went in tied, left inning tied.
ramirez goes in tied, left inning tied. boston scores. then ramierz gets the W.

right? who gets the save though?


no save. a reliever has to come in with a lead to protect and finish the game. that didn't happen. when a starter pitches a complete game and wins, there is no save. the same is true when a reliever finishes a game he entered when it was tied.
i'm the guy that puts the "nip" in omnipotent...
auclairkeithbc
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar

Posts: 3181
Joined: 5 Nov 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball


Return to Baseball Leftovers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: buiviopaufamp, unioreimi and 13 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Today's Games
Thursday, Jul. 31
(All times are EST, weather icons show forecast for game time)

Chi White Sox at Detroit
(1:08 pm)
Colorado at Chi Cubs
(2:20 pm)
St. Louis at San Diego
(3:40 pm)
Philadelphia at Washington
(7:05 pm)
Seattle at Cleveland
(7:05 pm)
LA Angels at Baltimore
(7:05 pm)
Cincinnati at Miami
(7:10 pm)
indoors
Toronto at Houston
(8:10 pm)
Minnesota at Kansas City
(8:10 pm)
Pittsburgh at Arizona
(9:40 pm)
Atlanta at LA Dodgers
(10:10 pm)

  • Fantasy Baseball
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact